top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureQueen V

How to get out of Reading Slumps

Updated: Apr 14, 2021

As someone who is currently in a slump, I can tell you…it is the worst


To whoever created reading slumps…you can go die in a hole over there 😃👉


*le sigh*

The fact that this month I’ve read four books in total, and one being a short comic,

disappoints me.


Sooooo I’ve made a list of things that personally help me get out of reading slumps.


  1. Reread a old favorite


This almost always helps, even if it doesn’t fully get you out of your slump.

Rereading a favorite will rekindle your love of reading. You should defiantly do this if the reason you got into a slump was because of reading a trashy book.



2. AUDIOBOOKS


I can not even express how much audiobooks have helped me get through slumps.

Even if you just play it for background sound, PUT ON AN AUDIOBOOK.

It literally feeds you a story, even if you don’t fully pay attention, you’re still enjoying a story. But I would defiantly play one where you really like the reader, if not you’ll most likely just get pushed deeper into your slump.

I’ve been listening to audiobooks for the past few days and it’s really been helping me get out of my slump.



3. Take a break


Sometimes just taking a break is good. Don’t force yourself to read, it’ll just make you not want to read even more.

Take a break a for a little while. We all need a vacation once and a while, even from books.



4. Join a Book Club and/or a Buddy Read


This is a good way to get back into reading, since you have a time limit.

But don’t overbook yourself, this will make you force yourself to read which you don’t want to do.

Another reason this is a great way to get out of a slump is that you’re not reading by yourself. When you’re part of a group you usually have a lot of fun. And it can be nice discussing books with other folks for a change.



5. Read a Graphic Novel


Graphic novels can help since it’s usually more pictures than words.

It can give you a break from reading, while still reading.

There are a broad range of graphic novels to chose from, so pick what’s best for you.

But graphic novels are not for everyone though, so this might not be the best option for you, but I would defiantly give it a try.



And there you go folks! 5 things that help me get out of my reading slumps.


Thanks for reading!

~Veronica



84 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page